February 06 – THORIUM Will Release Their 2nd Official Video Single “Empires in the Sun”, Off Their Long-Awaited Second Album Of The Same Name

L-R: Thorium are: *Stripe – bass *Tom Tee – guitars *David Marcelis – vocals *Dario Frodo – guitars *Louis Van der Linden – drums

“’Empires in the Sun’ explores the age-old notion of the ephemeral nature of greatness and glory; on how even the proudest and most unshakable achievements, institutions and ambitions are ultimately destined to be swept under by the tides of time. In the lyrics we present a character, driven by wild ambition to build, to rule – and ultimately to conquer and subjugate. Taking a cue from Percy Shelley’s classic ‘Ozymandias’, the ruler forges his mighty works with a cruel and terrible hand, certain they will stand for all eternity and for all to see; yet for all their grandeur, the lone and level sands are all that remain, in the end.” – Tom Tee

THORIUM’s sophomore album ‘Empires in the Sun’ will be released March 5th 2021 via Freya Records. The record is now available for pre-order via this link: https://thoriumband.bandcamp.com

The album will be available on black vinyl, gold vinyl, yellow/blue swirl vinyl (limited availability), on CD, and on all online streaming platforms. All pre-orders (before March 5th 2021) will receive several exclusive items from the band.

The album was produced by Tom Tee. Mixing and mastering were once again handled by Simone Mularoni at Domination Studio in San Marino, Italy.
The cover artwork was painted by Velio Josto (http://www.facebook.com/veliojosto).

For the epic trilogy ‘1302’, the band acquired the help of several renowned guest vocalists: Arjen Anthony Lucassen (Ayreon), Benny ‘Zors’ Willaert (23 Acez), Joe Van Audenhove (Evil Invaders) and Anneleen Olbrechts. Moreover, Norman Eshley (Blind Guardian) lent his warm voice to provide the narration on a selection of songs.

Fans can follow the band on their favourite social platform: https://linktr.ee/Thorium

01. Dreams of Empire (a pastorale) (0:53) 02. Exquisite (3:52) 03. Powder and Arms II (3:08) 04. Where Do We Go (4:34) 05. More Than Meets The Eye (4:42) 06. Empires in the Sun (5:12) 07. The Old Generation (4:44) 08. Winterfall (5:15) 09. Itching and Aching (Dead-Eyed Society) (3:18) 10. 1302 – The Minstrel part I (2:09) 11. 1302 – The Golden Shadow (13:02) 12. 1302 – The Minstrel part II (2:15)